News Center

Back to News Center

Morrisville State ice hockey places 10 on SUNYAC All-Academic teams

MORRISVILLE, N.Y. – The State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) announced its Commissioner’s List and All-Academic Team award recipients, with 10 ice hockey student-athletes from Morrisville State earning its academic accolades for the spring 2012 semester.

To be named to the Commissioner’s List, student-athletes must maintain at least a 3.30 cumulative grade point average for at least three semesters while competing. Four hockey student-athletes have earned that honor for Morrisville State, including Thomas Longland (Dunnville, Ontario), James Jarvis (Pickering, Ontario), Jamie Nelson (Stratford, Ontario), and Curtis Renaud (Carlisle, Ontario).

Longland, Jarvis, Nelson and Renaud were also named to the SUNYAC All-Academic Team, in which student-athletes must have earned at least a 3.30 grade point average for the semester in which they competed during the sport season. Also earning All-Academic team accolades are Alex Tillaart (Ashburn, Ontario), Christopher Azzano (Oshawa, Ontario), Colin Breen (Waterloo, Ontario), Jonathan Cristini (Mississauga, Ontario), Nathan Hughes (Utica, N.Y.) and Zachary McMichael (Bancroft, Ontario).

Morrisville State College sets the world in motion for students. Curriculums are enriched with applied learning and pave the way for opportunity at both the Morrisville and Norwich campuses. An action-oriented, interactive learning lab, the college is a national leader in technology. Lauded for its exemplary, innovative and effective community service programs, the college was named to the 2012 President’s Higher Community Service Honor Roll. Visit to experience, Morrisville in motion.