Request Information

School of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Dean: Christopher L. Nyberg
Phone: (315) 684-6083

Environmental Sciences Department


The Environmental Sciences Department is committed to quality education, encompassing both classroom learning and hands-on field experience, ensuring that our students are fully prepared to meet the challenges faced after their college experience. The department offers four degree programs.   These include the following:

Practical, hands-on, outdoor activities and a low faculty to student ratio is typical in all the study programs offered by the department.

The Department of Environmental Sciences is involved in a variety of external educational programs, including the SUNY Center for Brownfield Studies. The SUNY Center for Brownfield Studies is an educational initiative aimed at environmental management and contamination cleanup coupled with redevelopment of properties. It involves a consortium of five educational institutions that include the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, SUNY Institute of Technology, Morrisville State College, Mohawk Valley Community College, and Herkimer County Community College, have committed to develop and implement academic programs for the Center. These colleges began offering classes associated with brownfield remediation and redevelopment starting from the 2002 Spring semester.

More Information



William S. Snyder
Chair - Environmental Sciences Department
(315) 684-6237
Bicknell Hall, Room 107

Request Information