Contact Admissions

Phone: (315) 684-6046
Fax: (315) 684-6427
Whipple Administration Building

School of Agriculture, Sustainability, Business and Entrepreneurship

Dean: Christopher L. Nyberg
Phone: (315) 684-6083



**These scholarships are unique to the Restaurant Management and Food Service Administration programs You may also view a list of general scholarships.

American Hotel Foundation

As an affiliate member of AHF, Morrisville State College awards one or two scholarships totaling at least $1,000. The scholarship applicant must have completed one year of course work. Winners are selected by Morrisville State College faculty.

Bil Jones International Food Service Executives Association Student Branch Award

Named after the first IFSEA student branch president, this $250 award is given to a freshman food or hospitality major who is a member of IFSEA. For more information, contact Professor Joan Johnson at (315) 684-6017.

Clark DeHaven Award

This is a national award of $1,500 given to a student interested in a career in college food services. Contact NACUFS at (517) 332-2494 for applications.

Central New York Chapter, New York State Restaurant Association

This $250 to $500 is available to or majors from Onondaga, Cayuga, Oneida, Madison, Oswego or Cortland County. For applications contact:

Ruth Turner, Scholarship Chairman
9993 Maclaughlin Road
West Valley, N.Y. 14171

The Educational Foundation of the National Restaurant Association

This association sponsors 100 undergraduate awards valued from $750 to $5,000 each. Applications are available by contacting the School of Business at (315) 684-6056, or by calling 800-309-0578 for more information.


This $1,000 award is offered to 12 students nationally. Students must be enrolled full-time in food service or hospitality management programs. The application deadline is June 1. Applications are available from the American Hotel Foundation at (202) 289-3181.

Food Service Executives’ Association

This award is given to students in the Food Service Administration, Travel/Tourism and Restaurant Management curriculums.

  • National Award: competitive up to $500
  • FSEA Award in the name of Frank Loperfido: $500
  • FSEA Award in the name of John Wysocki, Wysocki's Lake Park Manor: $500

The Syracuse branch also offers four scholarships of $250 each.

For applications contact:
Dr. Joan Johnson (315) 684-6017 or
Ron Leo
325 Sunset Drive
East Syracuse, N.Y. 13057

The James Deisenroth Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a second year Morrisville State College student pursuing a degree in Restaurant Management. Eligibility requires a 2.50 or better GPA, normal progress toward a degree, good character, campus citizenship and wholesome campus involvement. Applications can be obtained from the School of Business at (315) 684-6056.

The Laura L. Symonds Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to Morrisville State College food service students pursuing a career in the food service industry or a related field. Selection is made by the Hospitality, Nutrition and Tourism Department. Call the School of Business at (315) 684-6056 for more information.

Lounette Curnalia Rosebrooks/Class of 1916 Scholarship Fund

This fund was started by Mrs. Lounette Curnalia Rosebrooks on behalf of herself and her graduating class of 1916. This award is given annually to a student in Restaurant Management or Food Service Administration. The award is an endowed scholarship and the amount varies. Applications are available by contacting the School of Business at (315) 684-6056.

The National Association of College and University Food Services, Region 1

Each year, two awards are offered to students who have commendable academic records and plan to pursue a career in college food services. The approximate award is $500. To obtain an application, call the School of Business at (315) 684-6056.

Council of Hotel, Restaurant, Institutional Educators (HEMAR Region)

These $500 awards are given to students majoring in a hospitalityrelated field who are enrolled in a HRI program in this region. To apply, request an application from department faculty, or call the National Tourism Association at (606) 226-4444.

Network of Executive Women in Hospitality, Inc.

These awards are offered to women who have a minimum 3.0 GPA.
For an application write to:
NEWH, Inc.
584 Broadway, Suite 602
New York, N.Y. 10012

New York State Restaurant Association Award

Students in a food service program are eligible for this $500 to $1,000 award. Applications are available by contacting:
455 New Karner Road
Albany, NY 12205

New York State Hospitality & Tourism Association Award

NYSHTA provides a scholarship to a senior with an interest in the hotel/motel industry, based on scholarship, financial need and commitment to his or her academic program. The approximate award is $500. Applications are available by contacting the School of Business at (315) 684-6056.

The New York State Federation of Home Bureaus, Inc.

The New York State Federation of Home Bureaus, Inc. sponsors a Food, Hospitality and Travel Management scholarship in honor of Florence W. Husson and a Nursing and Dietetic Technician scholarship on behalf of Chenango County to a returning senior who meets the qualifications of scholarship, need, leadership and residence in a county where the Federation of Home Bureaus, Inc. has an organized chapter. Call the School of Business at (315) 684-6056 or the School of Science and Technology at (315) 684-6079 for specific information.

The Perk Development Corporation

The Perk Development Corporation sponsors an award/internship program for senior students majoring in food service administration. The award amount varies. Applications are available through the School of Business by calling (315) 684-6056.

The Ralph Jacklin Awards

Mr. Ralph Jacklin has provided five merit awards of $500 each to incoming freshmen majoring in the field of Restaurant Management who exhibit a good high school grade point average and who meet the financial assistance requirements. Selection from the applications will be made by the scholarship committee in the School of Business. The award will cover the traditional academic year and will be utilized in furtherance of the recipient’s academic pursuits in the form of tuition, fees and/or books. Contact the Office of Institutional Advancement, 101 Bailey Hall, for information at (315) 684-6020.

The Thomas V. Ciarrocchi Scholarship

Given by a member of the Class of 1947, this scholarship rewards a student for academic achievement, good moral character, leadership and interest in a food service vocation. A faculty committee chooses the annual recipient. The award amount varies. Applications are available by contacting the School of Business at 315-684-6056.

United Restaurant, Hotel, and Tavern Association Award

The $1,000 award is a statewide scholarship available to students who have completed one year of course work with a minimum GPA of 2.5. Applicants must be New York state residents and must demonstrate financial need. The application deadline is April 30. Applications are available by contacting: United Restaurant Hotel Tavern Association, 25 Elk Street, Albany, N.Y. 12207

More Information


Kerry J. Beadle
Department Chair
(315) 684-6786

Request Information

Admissions Requirements

Desired: 2 units of defined math and biology