News Center

Back to News Center

Morrisville State College honors students, graduates

MORRISVILLE, N.Y.—The School of Science and Technology at Morrisville State College awarded the following scholarships to students, graduates.

The School of Science and Technology Award, based on academic excellence and campus involvement, was presented to Tiffany Sullivan, of Sidney, Olivia Kasprzyk, of Oriskany, Christopher Wisdom, of Brooklyn, and Nicole Geier, of Mayfield.

Kasprzyk, a wood products technology graduate, also received the Malcolm B. Galbreath Scholarship. The award is in honor of Malcolm B. Galbreath, the third president of Morrisville State College, under whose leadership the Engineering Departments were started.

The Alumni Association Award was presented to Leslie Hulbert, of Cobleskill, an architectural studies and design graduate. She also received the Architectural Alumni Foundation Award.

The Crawford Scholarship was presented to Kolleen Brown, of Willet, a sports nutrition and fitness management major. This scholarship, based on academic performance, is given at the end of the freshman year to a student majoring in a traditional science field.

Brown also received the Madge Snyder Scholarship. This award is given annually to a student considering a career in biology who excels academically and represents citizenship.

The Tony Patane Award, presented to an African-American or Latino student in an engineering technology program based on character and academic achievement, was presented to Veronica Yuqui, of Sunnyside, and a native of Equador, an architectural studies and design major.

The Elizabeth Hill Scholarship, given to a returning senior nursing student who is a single parent, was presented to Zipporah Milovsky, of Oneida.

Mary E. Jenks Scholarship was presented to Abraham Kromah, of Jamaica, N.Y., a nursing graduate.

Receiving Follett Foundation Scholarships were: Emily Nelson, of Earlville, Amanda Minihan, of Oxford, Don Hoag, of Norwich, Loretta Goedel, of Sherburne, all recent nursing graduates, and Sierra Posson, of McDonough, Jessica Kolthoff, of Norwich, Heather Slack, of Norwich, Heather Miller, of Sherburne, Penny Kuhn, of Sherburne, Irene Gabone, of Norwich, all nursing majors.

The Distinguished Nursing Student Award, presented to graduating senior nursing students who have demonstrated professional attributes and leadership abilities and a commitment to lifelong learning, was awarded to Kathleen Hudson, of Cazenovia.

The Automotive Faculty Award, given to a first-year automotive student(s) and based on academic achievement and good character, was presented to Gabriel Vega, of Peekskill, and Chris Suter, of Pittsburgh, Pa., both automotive technology bachelor of technology degree majors.

The David Vockins Memorial Scholarship was presented to Daniel Mirocco, of Stony Brook, an automotive technology, bachelor of technology degree major, and Brian Genao, of Bronx, an automotive technology (Ford ASSET) major. In memory of David Vockins, a 1967 automotive technology graduate, recipients of this award are evaluated based on merit, good character, citizenship and campus involvement.

The George Cuney Memorial Scholarship was presented to Matthew Turco, of Middletown. This award, established by the Automotive Department in honor of the late Morrisville State College professor, George Cuney, is given to students who display campus citizenship and campus and community involvement, which emulate the late professor.

Receiving the Howard H. Bohling Automotive Tech Scholarship was Devin Dean, of Slate Hill, an autobody technology graduate.

The Architectural Portfolio Award which is presented to a graduating student in the architectural studies and design program, who has created an exemplary portfolio, was given to Nathan St. John, of Cortland, and Anthony Casciotta, of Hampton Bays, both architectural studies and design graduates.

The Architectural Book Award was presented to Christopher Wisdom, of Brooklyn, Matt Benjamin, of Chittenango, and Nicole Geier, of Mayfield, all architectural studies and design graduates, and Amy Schieferstine, of Vernon, an architectural studies and design student. The award is based on leadership in the studio community through academic achievement and design work, in addition to extracurricular activities.

The William Morehouse/Mohawk Valley Home Builders and Remodelers Scholarship was presented to Timothy Andersen, of Cicero, and Kayla Columbus, of Rome. The award is presented to residential construction students based on academic achievement and leadership.

Morrisville State College sets the world in motion for students. Curriculums are enriched with applied learning and pave the way for opportunity at both the Morrisville and Norwich campuses. An action-oriented, interactive learning lab, the college is a national leader in technology. Visit to experience, Morrisville in motion.