News Center

Back to News Center

NJAC to add Morrisville State and SUNY Brockport as affiliate football members in 2008-09

Pitman, NJ—The New Jersey Athletic Conference announced today that Morrisville State College and the State University of New York at Brockport will become affiliate football members of the NJAC beginning in the 2008-09 academic year. The addition of both institutions became official following successful votes on each institutional membership application by both the NJAC Presidents Council and the league Board of Athletic Administrators.

“We are extremely excited about the future additions of Morrisville State College and SUNY Brockport to the NJAC beginning in the 2008 season,” said Terry Small, Commissioner of the New Jersey Athletic Conference. “Our conference has benefited greatly from the additions of Cortland, Western Connecticut, and Buffalo State as affiliate members in football. By adding two more outstanding programs, we will be able to align many of the Division III public university programs in the Northeast while helping to ease the burden of scheduling that many of our institutions have experienced throughout the years.”

Currently in its first year of the NCAA Division III provisional membership process, Morrisville State College reinstated its football program in 1997 after a 40-year hiatus. As a member of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA), the Mustangs captured Northeast Football Conference championships in 1999, 2002, and 2003, while earning NJCAA Region III titles in those same three seasons. Led by 10th-year head coach Terry Dow, Morrisville posted a 57-36 overall record in NJCAA play from 1997 to 2005.

“On behalf of everyone at Morrisville State, I would like to thank each of the New Jersey Athletic Conference institutions for the opportunity to participate in what is generally recognized as one of the finest conferences in NCAA Division III,” said Greg Carroll, Director of Athletics at Morrisville State College. “The new alignment should not only strengthen college football in New York State, but also create exciting rivalries between our New Jersey and New York campuses. While Morrisville is still in its NCAA infancy, football has a strong tradition and heritage on our campus. This is just the beginning of yet another chapter in that long history.”

Established in 1947, the SUNY Brockport football program competed as an independent for 56 seasons before becoming a member of the Atlantic Central Football Conference (ACFC) in 2004. The Golden Eagles, who have earned four NCAA Division III Tournament berths since 2000, captured the ACFC Championship in 2005. Led by 12th-year head coach Rocco Salomone, Brockport has posted a 76-46-1 overall record during his tenure.

”Brockport is thrilled to be joining the NJAC,” said Lin Case, Director of Athletics at SUNY Brockport. “We feel that this is a great opportunity to join one of the elite football conferences in Division III. We look forward to competing in the same conference with many of the schools already on our schedule, and we are also pleased to be joining our sister SUNY schools in the same conference. This is a great step forward for our college, the athletic department, and Brockport football.”

The addition of Morrisville State College and SUNY Brockport to the New Jersey Athletic Conference in 2008-09 will increase the league’s football membership to 10 institutions including full-conference members: Kean University, Montclair State University, Rowan University, The College of New Jersey and William Paterson University. The conference will also feature five affiliate football members in: SUNY Cortland, Western Connecticut State University, Buffalo State College, Morrisville State College, and SUNY Brockport.

The New Jersey Athletic Conference Board of Athletic Administrators has initiated the development of a 10-team composite block conference schedule for the 2008 season. Each NJAC team will play a nine-game league schedule, with the conference champion receiving an automatic qualification to the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament.