News Center

Back to News Center

Morrisville State College's Athletic Wall of Fame Class of 2009 announced

MORRISVILLE, N.Y. – On Friday, May 29, Morrisville State College will induct former lacrosse coach Jack Van Ingen, swimming’s Renee Gates and the 1980 National Champion Men’s Soccer Team as the Class of 2009 into its Athletic Wall of Fame at the John W. Stewart Center for Student Activities (STUAC) on the Morrisville State campus.

Van Ingen has been universally recognized as the founder of the men’s lacrosse program at Morrisville State. From its humble beginnings as a club team in 1975, it grew quickly into an intercollegiate sport. Van Ingen maintained his faculty position in the School of Business while continuing to nurture the program’s growth for the next several years. An undergraduate at Hobart College, VanIngen earned All-American honors while playing lacrosse for the Statesmen. During World War II he flew 21 missions as a crew member on a B-17 bomber before being shot down in Southern Germany and taken prisoner of war. Van Ingen retired from Morrisville State in 1995 and continued to be a strong supporter of the college for several years later.

Gates was a two-year participant for Morrisville State on the women’s swimming team from 1991 – 1993. Earning NJCAA All-American honors twice in the 200 yard fly and All-American honors in the 200 and 400 medley relays, Gates was voted the NJCAA Most Outstanding Swimmer on two occasions and set 11 Morrisville State records as either an individual or relay team member. Gates graduated with Dean’s List honors and has served on the college’s Alumni Board of Directors.

Enroute to the national championship title, the 1980 men’s soccer team compiled a 19-0 overall record, claiming the Region III Championship and seven victories over top nationally ranked teams. Throughout the course of the storied season, Morrisville State was ranked at the top among NJCAA colleges and had three earn post-season honors; Blanca Bowman, Walter Herron and Ben Collins were named to the NJCAA All-American First Team while Bowman and Collins earned NSCAA All-American honors. Coached by NJCAA Men’s Soccer and Morrisville State Hall of Fame Coach, Art Lemery, team members included: Blanca Bowman, Pete Buisman, Pat Cunning, Ben Collins (Wall of Fame 1999), Doug Chojnowski, Neil Fitzpatrick, Ed Gentile, Todd Gould, Jerry Haber, Walter Herron, Tom Huber, Randy Leckinger, Vinnie Licciardi, Dean Ludwig, Tom Sedita, Solomon Sipply, Steve Tremaine, Mike Birsti, Sampson Roberts, Doug Reynolds, Tim O’Brien, Joe Santa-Maria, Tom Lynd, Tim Osborne, Mike Virts, co-captain Dave Ramin, Matt Woods, Assistant Coach Otis Fuller and manager Craig Lemery.

The event is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m. with the induction of the Class of 2009 at 7 p.m. Tickets can be reserved through the alumni office at 684-6363 and may also be purchased at the door.

Morrisville State enters its third year as a provisional member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), Division III in 2008. Upon successful completion of the provisional period, Morrisville State will be a candidate for full accreditation as a member of the NCAA.

Morrisville State College offers more than 75 bachelor and associate degrees and options. Considered to be one of the most technologically advanced colleges in the nation for its ThinkPad University program and wireless technology initiative, the college recently became the first in the nation to comprehensively replace landlines in residence halls with individual cellular phones. Morrisville State College was also chosen as one of the top five colleges in the nation for campus activities by Campus Activities magazine.

The Morrisville State College Norwich Campus offers associate degree programs in accounting, business, computer systems technology, office administration, liberal arts transfer, nursing, early childhood, criminal justice and human services to south central New York residents and employers. Students may also apply coursework to other associate or bachelor degrees at the main campus.