Morrisville State College science, technology and health studies students honored at annual awards dinner

Published date
News Type

MORRISVILLE, NY—As part of Morrisville State College’s annual celebration of academic excellence, students from the School of Science, Technology and Health Studies were honored for their outstanding achievements.

More than 175 students were recognized on the school’s academic honors list during the annual awards dinner, where 22 awards and scholarships were also presented. 

Kalei Feldman, an auto body technology A.A.S. student from Rodman, received the George Cuney Memorial Award. Established by the Automotive Department in honor of the late Morrisville State College professor George Cuney, the award is given to a second-year automotive student who displays characteristics which emulate professor Cuney, including good character, campus citizenship, and campus and community involvement.

The Automotive Faculty Award, given to a first-year automotive student based on academic achievement and good character, was presented to Wyatt Sands, an automotive technology, bachelor of technology degree student from South Plymouth.

Receiving the Howard H. Bohling Automotive Tech Scholarship was Samuel Caso, of Delmar. The award is presented to a first-year A.A.S. automotive student who exhibits a strong work ethic, commitment to the industry and shows integrity in their daily work. 

The David Vockins Memorial Award was presented to Kristipher Ojeda, of Bronx, an automotive technology, bachelor of technology degree student. In memory of David Vockins, a 1967 automotive technology graduate, recipients of this award are evaluated based on merit, good character, citizenship and campus involvement.

The Douglas Award, a scholarship presented for academic excellence to a transferring A.S. graduate in mechanical technology or computer science/traditional sciences, went to Joshua Fine, a mechanical engineering technology student from Manlius. 

Joseph Sirianni, of Hornell, received the Gail Fish Award, which recognizes a nursing student from the Norwich Campus and is based on academic merit, interest and work experience in their field. 

The Chesebro Ponds Unilever Nursing Scholarship, provided to MSC nursing students from the Oriskany Falls area, was awarded to four students: Kelsey Heh, of Canastota; Marissa Davidson, of Fayetteville; Liberty Hopkins, of Durhamville; and Kimberly Turner, of Earlville.

The Tioga Hardwoods Scholarship, awarded to a freshman in her or his second semester of the wood products technology program, was presented to Nicholas Perry, of Syracuse. The recipient is selected based on academic achievement, citizenship and a demonstrated interest in the wood products industry, with priority given to a nontraditional student. 

Sophomore Helena Hanes, a residential construction major from St. Mary’s, Pa., received the Residential Construction/Wood Products Technology Award, based on academic performance. 

Ten students were awarded the Roger W. Follett Foundation Nursing Scholarship, presented to students from Chenango County who are enrolled in the nursing program at either the Morrisville or Norwich campus of MSC: Alisha Armstrong, of Richfield Springs; Shana McCready, of Smyrna; Tara Franklin, of Norwich; Katrina Brooks, of South New Berlin; Chelsea Roach, of Oxford; Katelyn Stewart, of Sherburne; Breanna Frisbie, of Sherburne; Erin Pittsley, of New Berlin; Meredith Cathcart, of Norwich; and Amy Hill, of New Berlin. 

Engineering science student Margaret Collins, of Madison, and health-related studies student Megan Matthews, of Eaton, were each awarded the Malcolm B. Galbreath Scholarship. The award is in honor of Malcolm B. Galbreath, the third president of Morrisville State College, under whose leadership the engineering departments were started. 

Megan Mikalajunas, of Binghamton, was presented the Mary Jenks Award, named after the 1971 MSC graduate who overcame a vision impairment to build a rewarding career in the healthcare field. The award is given annually to a student who has overcome hardships and demonstrated outstanding attitude and achievement while completing the two-year nursing program. 

The Distinguished Nursing Student Award, selected by the nursing faculty based on professional attributes, leadership abilities and a commitment to lifelong learning, went to Catherine Byrnes, of Cazenovia. 

The Elizabeth Hill Scholarship, granted to a returning senior nursing student who is a single parent, was awarded to Linda Tran, of Warners. 

Brandon Steves, a human performance and health promotion student from Whitehall, received the Madge Snyder Scholarship. This award is given annually to a student in good academic standing who shows evidence of good character and solid citizenship and who is majoring in one of the following: biology, health-related studies, sports nutrition and fitness management, or human performance and health promotion.

The Tony Patane Award, presented to an African-American or Latino student in an engineering technology program and based on character and academic achievement, was presented to David Annor, of Bronx.

The School of Science, Technology and Health Studies Award, presented to students based on academic excellence and campus involvement, went to Layne Martin, a nursing student from Cazenovia, and Vanessa Paver, a mechanical engineering technology student from Durhamville.

Nicole Shantel, a health-related studies student from Canastota, received the Carolyn A. Thompson Memorial Scholarship. Established in memory of Carolyn Thompson, a longtime professor at Morrisville State College who passed away unexpectedly, the scholarship is given to a student who has completed at least 30 credit hours at MSC while studying the sciences and demonstrated outstanding personal character both in and out of the classroom.

The Biology and Chemistry Department Faculty Award, presented to a student in one of the five programs within the department and based on academics, community or campus involvement or family service, went to Maria DeWilde, a human performance and health promotion student from Canfield, Ontario.

The HPHP Champion Award, which recognizes a human performance and health promotion senior who is a champion in the classroom, on campus and in the community, was presented to Jordan Anderson, of West Edmeston, and Dylan Frank, of Rochester. 

The Crawford Scholarship was presented to Stephanie Petros, a health-related studies student from Oneida, and Kimberly Hughes, a human performance and health promotion student from Lloydminster, Alberta. This scholarship, based on academic performance, is given to a returning student majoring in a traditional science field.

The CIT Award, presented to the bachelor’s degree student with the highest cumulative GPA within the school, was received by Stephen Bauer, a network administration student from Poughkeepsie. 

Morrisville State College’s curricula are enriched with applied learning and pave the way for opportunity at both the Morrisville and Norwich campuses. An action-oriented, interactive learning lab, the college is a national leader in technology and has been lauded for its exemplary, innovative and effective community service programs.

The college was ranked among the Best Regional Colleges in the North by U.S. News and World Report Best Colleges 2017 issue and was also recognized in the Top Public Schools, Regional Colleges North in the 2017 Best Colleges rankings.