SUNY Morrisville honors students during Alpha Phi Sigma Criminal Justice Honor Society Induction Ceremony

Published date
3:30 p.m.
News Type

SUNY Morrisville’s 14th annual induction ceremony for the Alpha Phi Sigma, Mu Beta Chapter Criminal Justice Honor Society was recently held to celebrate and recognize 23 students.

Alpha Phi Sigma recognizes academic excellence of undergraduate and graduate students of Criminal Justice, as well as Juris Doctor students. The goals of Alpha Phi Sigma are to honor and promote academic excellence, community service, educational leadership and unity.

To be inducted into the Alpha Phi Sigma, Mu Beta Chapter Criminal Justice Honor Society, which was founded on campus by Professor Clare Armstrong-Seward in 2010, students must be pursuing a criminal justice bachelor’s degree, earn a 3.2 or higher GPA, complete 45 credits in the program and rank in the top 35 percent of their class academically.

Madison County Sheriff Todd Hood served as the ceremony’s keynote speaker, sharing with the inductees his background, successes and future advice on how to succeed in the criminal justice profession.

The students acknowledged at the ceremony include:

Aya Aswad; Celeste Nicole Baldwin; Mekenzie Cashman; Jennifer Katherine DeJung; Kelvin Alexis Diaz; Hailee Rose Easson; Darren A. Grabow; Deasjia Harris; Piper Kaylor; Kennedy Elizabeth Kirkby; Jonas Leas; Alexus Nicole Lennon; Alex James McLaughlin; Josely Bethel Medina; Riley James Miller; Vitoria Lynne Normile; Zoey Isabella Olson; Destinee Posey; Nicholas Joseph Russo; Fiona Tobin; Brooke E. Weber; Jared James Wells; Marykathryn P. Weyant